Call for GSHP office nominations 2019

The Committee on Nominations-2019 is pursuing members who wish to get or stay active and involved in GSHP. These candidates should exhibit qualities of leadership, vision and professional awareness that will sustain the enterprising and pioneering spirit that has characterized GSHP. 

WHO: Any pharmacist member of GSHP. 

WHAT: Submit your name or another GSHP member's name to the Committee on Nominations for consideration as a candidate for the following offices: 



District Directors-elect for: 

NE Georgia (Gainesville, Athens)

Chattahoochee (Columbus, LaGrange area)


President Elect: The President-elect serves as a member of the Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Board of Directors and as a non-voting ex-officio member of all standing committees and ad hoc bodies of the GSHP Board. Perform the duties of the President in the President's absence. Monitor progress of committees and individuals in addressing issues identified and charges assigned from the planning retreats. Succeeds to the offices of President and Chairman of the Board. Your term of office would be from August 2019 to August 2020 as President-elect; August 2020 to August 2021 as President and August 2021 to August 2022 as Chair of the Board. 

Treasurer:  The Treasurer shall serve as the Chief Financial Officer of GSHP and as Chairman of the Finance Committee; be responsible for overseeing, conservation and prudent investment of the assets and funds of GSHP; assure that expenditure of funds is in accord with the program, priorities and budget approved by the Board of Directors of the financial strength and needs of GSHP.  The Treasurer serves as a member of the GSHP Executive Committee.   Term of office is from August 2019 to August 2022.

District Directors: In addition to representing membership from the local district as a voting member of the Board, the District Directors serve as membership liaison and coordinate local continuing education programming for GSHP. You would serve as district director elect from August 2019 to August 2020, and District Director from August 2020 to August 2022. 

WHERE: Submit names for consideration to: The Committee Nominations - 2019, c/o  Steve Glass (

When: Before March 29, 2019

WHY: The future of our profession needs the participation and contribution of its leaders.


Call for Poster Presenters at the GSHP Spring Meeting 2019

 This is your opportunity to share your results with pharmacy colleagues from around Georgia at the GSHP Spring Meeting Poster Session in Savannah on Saturday, March 9, 2019. Posters highlighting innovative services, evaluations and pharmacy practice model change initiatives are especially encouraged. Encore presentations from national meetings (ASHP, ACCP, etc.) are accepted.  Presenting a peer-reviewed poster is an ideal professional development activity for preceptors, both seasoned and new practitioners, residents and students. The primary (first) poster presenter must be a GSHP member and results must be included on abstract to be accepted.  Research-in-progress abstracts with background and methods only will not be accepted for the poster awards but can present.  Pharmacy students and residents are especially encouraged to participate.   Students and residents presenting posters will receive free meeting registration if they are the primary (first author) on the poster.  Please let us know if you are able to attend the entire program or Saturday only). 

The GSHP Education Committee will be evaluating ALL posters submitted for recognition and designation as "Outstanding GSHP Poster".   There will be three categories recognized: 1) Best Pharmacy Student Poster; 2) Best Pharmacy Resident Poster; 3) Best Pharmacy Practitioner Poster based on the credentials of the primary (first) author.  One student, one resident, and one practitioner poster will each win an award based on the highest combined abstract and poster scores. Winners will each receive a plaque and $200.

The scoring rubric by which the posters will be judged will be available on the GSHP website.     

The deadline for submission of abstracts is at 12:00 Noon on February 15. 

To submit your poster abstract, or for questions, contact Marjorie Phillips, GSHP Poster Session Coordinator at: 

Each abstract email submission must be entered on the abstract form (abstract example) and contain the following:

1)    Brief descriptive title (use title case)

2)    Author information. Include full name, professional credentials and institutional affiliation (i.e., health care organization or college name) author(s), email address for corresponding author/presenter.

3)    Body of the abstract with the following headings: Purpose, Methods, Results and Conclusions.  

4)   The submitted abstract must fit on the attached form and be no more than 300 words.

5)    Abstract should be written using calibri font and should be 11-point font.  Do not include tables, graphs, or illustrations in abstract.  Spell out all pharmaceutical acronyms and special symbols (e.g., < or >).  

6)    Include which poster category applies (should be based only on first author's credentials)

  • Pharmacy Student Poster

  • Pharmacy Resident Poster

  • Pharmacy Practitioner Poster

7)    Include submission type

  • Descriptive report - describes new, improved, or innovative roles or services in pharmacy practice, or case report.

  • Evaluative study report - describes original research including clinical research, drug effects in humans, drug use evaluations, and evaluations of clinical pharmacy services


GSHP Spring meeting registration is now open


GSHP Committee Day

Saturday January 5, 2019 at Eagle’s Landing Country Club in Stockbridge GA

Photos from Committee Day 2019

GSHP and Glass Management

GSHP is pleased to announce that we have extended our contract with Glass Management. We look forward to our continued partnership with Steve Glass in serving our members over the next three years. Thank you Steve for your long-standing commitment to GSHP! December 3, 2018




Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software